Turnberry apprentices turn up the heat!

Ayrshire College is supporting eight trainees undertake a Modern Apprenticeship in Hospitality at SVQ levels 2 and 3 at the Turnberry Resort, one of Ayrshire’s premier tourist destinations. To meet the needs of the resort’s business, the College devised a flexible training solution to allow the apprentices to be based fully in the workplace with regular assessments carried out by the College.

A few months into their apprenticeships, here’s what four of the apprentices have to say.

20140517-161026.jpg

Scott Jackett SVQ Level 2 Professional Cookery, Modern Apprentice

I’ve always had a passion for food so when the opportunity to work at Turnberry came up I jumped at the chance. Working here has been a great experience. It’s an amazing place with lots of opportunities for progression at home and abroad. At the moment I am working as a Commis Chef, focusing on pastry and baking breads. I’m learning so much and have enjoyed working my way around the resort over the last 18 months, covering the kitchen, larder, fish and sauce corners.

I’d thought about starting an apprenticeship for a while and to do it fully in the workplace is a real bonus. Gaining the right skills and qualifications to become successful is great. Working abroad is where I see myself in years to come and I hope to look back at this time as when my career really took off!

Jodine Mitchell SVQ Level 2 Professional Cookery, Modern Apprentice

This is the second time I’ve been a student at Ayrshire College. After graduating in HND in Graphic Design I evaluated my next career move and decided I wanted to get involved in something more hands-on. I did a Princes Trust course called ‘Get into Hospitality’ which inspired me to consider working in hospitality. I came to Turnberry for a family meal and, purely by chance, the opportunity to take part in this apprenticeship came up.

At the moment I’m working with pastry. I really love it, especially the sugar work. Along with a few of the other trainees, we’ve just built a gingerbread house which was a lot of fun and yet technically challenging. It certainly put my design skills to good use! In the future I plan to open my own restaurant. I’m looking at this course as a way of gaining the skills and qualifications to become a better Chef which will allow me to achieve my dreams.

Ruraidri Patterson SVQ Level 2 Professional Cookery, Modern Apprentice

I was brought up in the Hospitality trade. My dad works in the industry and my mum is a pastry chef, so you could say I was destined to follow in their footsteps! I first came to Turnberry for a week’s work experience. I really enjoyed it and couldn’t believe when I was offered the chance to join the apprenticeship programme. At the moment I am working in the larder. I love the buzz and the atmosphere when service starts, it certainly gets the adrenaline pumping.

Every day I am learning new skills and meeting new people. Starting this apprenticeship is really exciting and I’m looking forward to learning as much as I can whilst working in the resort. My ambition is to become a Head Chef in years to come, ideally in France or Spain. I’m really interested in the history and origins of cooking, and I want to be the best Chef I can be. By putting in the hard work and absorbing as much information as I can, I know I can succeed in my ambitions.

Nicola Laidman SVQ Level 3 Professional Cookery, Modern Apprentice

I first became involved in the Hospitality trade years ago when I worked for another major Ayrshire hotelier. Not having the qualifications to progress, I left my job and went to college where I achieved the Introductory and NC Professional Cookery courses. Whilst studying I gained casual employment at Turnberry. As part of my college course, I undertook a week’s work experience in the kitchens and this gave me the confidence to consider becoming a Chef. After completing my courses, I gained full-time employment with Turnberry and I’m currently employed in the Clubhouse helping to run the larder corner.

Getting the opportunity to do the modern apprenticeship programme is really exciting. I’m looking forward to learning more and developing myself further. I can’t believe I am going back into learning after so many years working. It just goes to show you are never too old to learn something new!

RAISING ASPIRATIONS | INSPIRING ACHIEVEMENT | INCREASING OPPORTUNITIES

Leave a Reply

