Spotlight on women in computing – Carol Maguire

  After 21 years in the same job, Carol Maguire decided to shake up her career. Having always had an interest in ICT, she came to Ayrshire College to complete an HND Web Development and Interactive Media. Read about how she made her career in IT happen.


What did you do before going to College?

I worked full time with the council as a Clerical Assistant for 21 years.

How did you get into ICT?

I really wanted to learn more about ICT, so I took the leap and handed my notice in! I’ve learnt so much since coming to college. Everything from how websites are created, learning java scripts, project management and how to build an e-business.

What challenges have you faced, and how did you overcome them?

During the course, I volunteered to write a blog at Working Digital 2014, Ayrshire’s biggest technology and social media conference which attracts industry leaders from all over Scotland.

Having worked in administration before coming to college, my note-taking and typing skills were invaluable in my role as blogger! Networking with the speakers gave me lots of ideas and I’m more enthusiastic than ever about my future career in the digital sector! This blog is available at http://www.workingdigital.co.uk/blog/

Describe your job on a day to day basis.

I now work part time as Website Content and Social Media Co-ordinator at the Scottish Maritime Museum. I create, edit and update content within the company’s website. I also use Facebook and Twitter to promote and market their presence on social media.

What advice would you give to others interested in a career in ICT?

Going to college has given me confidence and reignited my love of learning. I’d thoroughly recommend it, no matter what age you are! I’ve been accepted to the University of the West of Scotland to complete my IT degree in one year, and to continue my work with the Scottish Maritime Museum is fantastic!


RAISING ASPIRATIONS | INSPIRING ACHIEVEMENT | INCREASING OPPORTUNITIES

Leave a Reply

