Chemistry was right between student and Ayrshire College

Access to STEM

A former Ayrshire College student who started his further education adventure on the College’s Access to STEM course is now on course to achieve a Chemistry degree.

Jordan Nelson, 24 from Kilmaurs, dreamt of becoming a football player when he left Stewarton Academy but soon realised he needed an education to fall back on.

He had a look at what Ayrshire College were offering and noticed the Access to STEM course included everything he enjoyed at school – Maths and Science with a bit of English – and decided to go for it.

Now he is halfway through a Chemistry degree that he hopes will take him onto a career in medicine, and he credits Ayrshire College as a massive influence in helping him achieve what he’s achieved.

He said “I really enjoyed my time at the College, and in a way I wish I was still back here. Of course I had to move onto the next stage, but the lecturers were fantastic – they helped me get through what was a difficult course.

“[Curriculum Manager] Ged Freel was a good guy who always answered my questions well, [lecturers] Carole Barnes and Derek Walls were a great help – the whole science department was really good, to be fair.

“The hard work has paid off now that I’m at university. I had two options when I left the College: I had an unconditional for petrochemical engineering at one university, and a conditional for Chemistry at another.”

Jordan chose the latter, under the condition that he attended summer school to pick up a few Higher qualifications.

“They needed to know I had the goods to actually do it,” he said.

“Summer school gave me a feel for the university and I’d definitely recommend that to other people.”

If you would like to follow in Jordan’s footsteps and start on the Access to STEM course, you can visit our Course page here.

Leave a Reply

