Success in Sport: Shannon Carrick

This week Ayrshire College is showcasing students who have had incredible achievements in sport.

On Monday we kicked things off with the story of William Dunnachie, who left it all behind here to coach in California with UK International Soccer for nine months.

This was followed by a look at the career so far of Ainsley-Ann Smith – a 17-year-old European medallist in taekwondo.

On Wednesday, the achievements of 18-year-old handball star Ross Strachan were highlighted.

Today we bring you 15-year-old Shannon Carrick’s story.


Shannon Carrick

Shannon Carrick is an ice skater. A pretty good one at that.

She first started ice skating at the age of 7 after her mother – who Shannon calls “so supportive” – encouraged her to join a sport.

The 15-year-old from Patna now skates every day, showing real dedication in travelling to Dundee Ice Arena to ensure she’s practicing on the very best ice rink available.

“The Team GB skaters all go there”, she said.

Shannon is one of those skaters. She was first chosen to represent Great Britain at the age of just 12.

She said “I would say that was my biggest achievement, because I was so young. I’ve competed for Great Britain three times now and I absolutely love it.

“I’ve also been to four British championships and although I’ve not won yet, I’ve been close and would say I’ve performed really well in the championships.”

Shannon said “Ice skating has been amazing for me.

“I’d love to make a living from skating. I’ve already been to Slovenia and Romania but I’d love to get into ice shows and tour the world.”

Right now she is studying NC Sport and Fitness and does have alternative plans for the future just in case she has to put the skating on ice.

She said “I’m enjoying the course – we’re learning all about different sports. At the end of it I’d like to either be a personal trainer or work at Active Schools.”

Watch Shannon skating below.

One thought on “Success in Sport: Shannon Carrick

  1. Pingback: Success in Sport: Kai Johnson | Ayrshire College Blog

Leave a Reply

