Success in Sport: Kai Johnson

This week Ayrshire College has been showcasing students who have had incredible achievements in sport.

To recap, we presented:

MondayWilliam Dunnachie, football coach

TuesdayAinsley-Ann Smith, taekwondo fighter

WednesdayRoss Strachan, handball player

ThursdayShannon Carrick, ice skater

To round off the week, we highlight the achievements of 17-year-old Kai Johnson, from Mauchline, who is a talented motorbike racer and NC Sport and Fitness (Advanced) student. Here is his story.


Kai

I started off on mini-motors. Someone around the corner from my house had one, and that got me started. I would’ve been around 8 years old.

In my third year I won the Scottish mini-moto championship. Then I moved onto 50cc racing and came 5th in my first year of that, and 3rd in my second. After that it was 125cc – where again I won the championship.

I was asked to go to Spain to try out for Red Bull. Unfortunately I didn’t get in, but I was one of 100 to make the tryouts from thousands of contenders. Of course I was nervous but I felt like I was doing well.

What I love about it is the adrenaline; the experience. But also the racing community. I’ve made loads of new friends and have met professional racers through this.

It’s more of an English thing, I’m one of the few Scottish people who do the British Superbikes.

I’m not doing anything this year due to a lack of funding but hopefully next year I’ll be in the Spanish championships, racing a Moto2 which is a 600cc. I’ll be improving my lap times as it’ll be the same type of tracks as before.

I’m finding the College course really interesting – I’m enjoying it. At the end of the day I’d love to get into something related to sport and fitness.

But hopefully I can become a professional racer again. The British Superbikes last year was my first year being professional and if I had done it this year I would have won the championship as my lap times were the same as the person in first place – but there’s a lack of sponsorship.

We need sponsors to ensure I can do it next year.

If you would like to sponsor Kai, you can contact john.mctaggart@ayrshire.ac.uk for further details.

Leave a Reply

