Respect Billy

RESPECT Week 2016 has been launched today at our Kilmarnock Campus, and will continue with information stands at the Ayr campus on Tuesday 22 November and at Kilwinning campus on Wednesday 23rd November from 10am to 2pm.

Respect, in all its forms, may be something that you don’t often think about. Yet it is a crucial quality to develop in order to have effective relationships at college.

Our Respect campaign highlights the need to ‘Respect Yourself’, ‘Respect the Community’, ‘Respect the Environment’ and ‘Respect People’.

Each strand is vital to understand for their own unique reasons.

This first post of a three-part blog series will hopefully allow you to reflect on why its important to ‘Respect People’, as members of our Estates team walk you through their daily lives working at our Ayr, Irvine and Kilmarnock Campuses.

First up we have Billy Gemmell, a Campus Assistant at Ayr.


billy-gemmell

“My general duties involve making sure everything’s perfect at this campus. That means opening up the College on time, setting the alarms and maintaining the security of the buildings.” Billy begins.

“We need to make sure the College is warm, clean and comfortable for everyone each day.”

A campus cannot remain perfect at all times, however, without the support from all those who use it.

On a topic that takes up more of Billy’s time than it should – litter – he said “I suppose you’ll always get a bit of litter anywhere but there are things you can do to improve it. Hopefully this ‘Respect’ campaign will do that.

“We have a lot of bins out but it’s not necessarily about the number of bins you put out – you could put 10 bins out or 1,000, but you’ll still find litter lying on the grounds if people choose not to use them.

“Moving to a no smoking campus has also been a big challenge,” Billy states.

“Cigarettes have been a major problem. Some people don’t discard their cigarettes in bins, they just throw them on the ground. There’s a lot of brushing up to be done. It has a big impact on our jobs as it takes us away from other things we could be doing.

“I would say to students and staff here: if you’re smoking or eating, then please put your things in the designated bins when you’re finished. That’s all I could ask them. There’s plenty of bins there.

“The more rubbish around the campus, the more time we spend dealing with it. People might not think too much about that but I would ask them to and dispose of their rubbish in the appropriate bins.”

Billy was at pains to point out that the majority of the people he has encountered each and every day over his past nine years in the role do treat him, and the College building, with respect.

He said “My role sees me interact with students and staff. For example, let’s say students are doing something for charity, I’ll help set stalls up for them. If lecturers need movements in their classrooms, they’ll come to us.

“On the whole, I’ll be honest, most of the students are brilliant. If you ask them to move or do something, they’ll do it.

“Everybody I’ve been involved with at the College over my time here has been first class.

“I would hope they would respect me, because I respect them. I respect the lecturers and the job they do, and I respect the students because that’s the whole reason we’re here. I’d hope I’d get respect from my fellow workers and students would respect facilities and everyone else at the College.

“I take pride in my work. I want to make sure the College is presentable because first impressions count. I want the College to look good, for students, lecturers and visitors to come in.”

Please choose to Respect Billy and others like him by disposing of your rubbish and cigarettes appropriately.

plasma18

One thought on “Respect Billy

  1. Pingback: Respect Mary | Ayrshire College Blog

Leave a Reply

