Ayrshire College Award winner – St Matthews Academy

Continuing from our blog series about the Ayrshire College Trophy winners, Rachel Floyd and Cole Archibald, today we meet Evan Rush.

Evan received the award from St Matthews Academy in Saltcoats for his demonstration of Leadership. He was one of the pupils that attended Mission Discovery at Ayrshire College in June 2016.

evan-2

What did you do to achieve an award for Leadership Skills?

I achieved this award by showing leadership skills both within and out with the school. For example, I represented my school at meetings with members of the local council, as well as acting as a Class Representative, feeding back concerns and opinions of the pupils in my class to the year head.  I also attended the Mission Discovery program at Ayrshire College, where I took on the role as group leader, ensuring everyone within my group had an equal part to play, and to make sure the group ran smoothly as a team to achieve the best result possible.   In addition to this, I recently gave a speech to the new S4, delivering tips on how to prepare for their first ever set of exams.

Have you continued to develop your Leadership skills in S5?

Yes. I continue to play a vocal role within my class, helping and motivating others whenever I have the opportunity.

Do you enjoy being a Leader?

I really enjoy being a Leader as it allows me to help other people to bring out their best qualities.

What do you think the most important thing about being a good leader is?

I think the most important thing about being a leader is making sure that everyone in your group is involved, recognising their individual strengths, and ensuring each person has an equal opportunity to contribute and give their opinions.

When did you find out you had won the award?

I found out I had won the award when it was announced at the St Matthew’s Senior Awards Ceremony.

How did it make you feel winning the award?

I was extremely proud of myself because I did not expect to win the award.

What are your ambitions for the next year?

I hope to pass all of my higher exams, but I also want to contribute to the school and wider community in any way possible.

What are you hoping to do when you have left school?

I hope to study Engineering at University when I leave school.


As we were unable to interview everyone that won the Ayrshire College Trophy we would like to mention Yasmin Thornburn (Auchinleck Academy), Eloise Lawler (Prestwick Academy), Harry Smith (Ayr Academy)  and Lorna Brody (Loudon Academy who were awarded the trophy by their school.

School College courses are an excellent way for pupils to study a vocational subject that they may not have otherwise had access to at school. Pupils gain transferable skills and experience from studying these courses. Often pupils have no vocational work experience to put on their CV or write about in applications for Modern Apprenticeships, College courses or University courses. Studying a school college course gives pupils a head start for their future.

If you would like to find out more information about school college courses please click here.

Leave a Reply

