A day in the life of an apprentice … Part one

In July 2016 Ayrshire College decided to hire modern apprentices in Marketing and ICT. The marketing apprenticeship is funded by the Ayrshire College Foundation.

Eight months into her apprenticeship we asked Catriona Cook, our Digital Marketing Apprentice, to write a diary of her day-to-day tasks to give an insight into what her job involves.

We start with an introduction to what Catriona did before she became an apprentice. Look out for Catriona’s daily updates throughout Scottish Apprenticeship Week next week.


6 – 10 March 2017 marks Scottish Apprenticeship Week so, to coincide with this, I am going to write about what I do day to day working as a Modern Apprentice. Today, I’ll give you a bit of background on what I did before starting my apprenticeship.

Catriona - blog.png

I left school after 5th year with a few Highers and Standard Grades but I didn’t have a clue what I wanted to do next. All I knew was that I wanted a break from education. I moved from part-time to full-time in my family’s café in Largs and worked my way up to management level. While I was working there I began to save and decided to pack my bags and go travelling.

After spending three years travelling, working and volunteering in Spain, Thailand and Australia I decided it was time to settle back in Scotland and choose a career to work towards. I was open to trying something completely new and kept my eye on websites to see what job opportunities were available. I spotted a vacancy for a Digital Marketing Apprentice at the College. When I read the job description it sounded really interesting and, coupled with the fact it was an apprenticeship, it was the ideal job for me.

Although I did okay at school I knew I would struggle returning to a classroom environment and the chance to learn while working was just so much more appealing to me. I’m definitely more of a hands-on person. Being able to earn a wage while learning was also a big advantage, especially since I’ve been working since I was 13!

Luckily for me, I got the job with Ayrshire College and began my two year apprenticeship in July 2016. I’ve been with the College for eight months now and I feel so lucky to have been given this opportunity. I really do love my job.

Working with the Marketing Team no two days are the same and there’s always something new and exciting happening. Read my blog next week to find out what I do day-to-day in a typical week.

Leave a Reply

