A day in the life of an apprentice … Part two

In July 2016 Ayrshire College decided to hire modern apprentices in Marketing and ICT. The marketing apprenticeship is funded by the Ayrshire College Foundation.

Eight months into her apprenticeship we asked Catriona Cook, our Digital Marketing Apprentice, to write a diary of her day-to-day tasks to give an insight into what her job involves.

Here is what she got up to today!


8.20am – I arrive at the College and head up to the office, my start time is 8.45am but I like to get in, switch on my computer and make a coffee before settling down to my work.

9.00am – First thing I’ll do is check my emails and my diary to plan my day. I keep a daily journal of all the work I complete. I can use this for evidence for my portfolio which is how I am assessed during my apprenticeship. I write down what goals I want to achieve that particular day and tick them off as I go along.

10.30am – On a Monday, we have our Digital Team meeting. We discuss upcoming events that we need to promote, what needs to be updated on the website, where we are with new campaigns and projects, what social media posts have been scheduled and our plan for the plasma screens throughout the three campuses. During the meeting, I discuss what videos I have uploaded to the College website and what blogs are being promoted that week.

monday-pic-digital-marketing-team-meeting

12.00pm – Today we have a Supplier Networking Lunch for people who the Marketing Team work closely with, photographers and press etc. It is a chance to build relationships, learn about new media opportunities and network.  It is being hosted in Kilmarnock Campus restaurant, Salt & Barrel (www.saltandbarrel.co.uk). Myself and Jennifer, Digital Marketing Officer sat beside Ruth Blakely and Gerry Cassidy from Word on The Street Magazine. Lunch was delicious as always!

2.30pm – I gave the invited guests a tour of the new Kilmarnock Campus after lunch. The new building opened in October and it’s nice to get the chance to show it off.

4.00pm – For the last hour today I uploaded images to Instagram, I have been given responsibility for creating content for this app. I then scheduled some social media posts on the Scottish Workplace Journey Challenge (a challenge to get as many people as possible commuting to work by walking, cycling, public transport and lift-sharing). Ayrshire College staff can sign up here: https://scotland.getmeactive.org.uk.

I am really looking forward to tomorrow because I am going on a training day with my team. Check back here to find out how I get on.

#ScotAppWeek17

#thisayrshiregirlcan

Leave a Reply

