Man in the Mirror

Our “Man in the Mirror” campaign addresses gender imbalance and stereotyping in the hairdressing industry by highlighting the positive learning experiences of some of our students.

In this blog we interviewed Jordan Fisher, Level 3 Hairdressing student, from Stevenston. We wanted to find out a bit more about what it’s like starting out in the hairdressing industry, and an insight into Jordan’s career so far.


IMG_8259

Here’s what he had to say:

“When I left school and originally went to college, I studied film-making.  However, I had always thought about what it would be like to go into hairdressing, so when I got the opportunity to get into the hairdressing course at Ayrshire College, I was delighted.

I like to chat and so a job where I could speak to customers suited me well.  I also like to think outside the box, so the fact that I get to be creative and artistic at the same time is perfect.

Hairdressing is never the same each day, it’s always fun as well as being a challenge.  I like the fact that I can keep up to date, and make sure that I know what styles are on-trend and pass this on to the customers.

The hairdressing course is really varied. We learn the theory and put this into practice in the training salon where we have real clients. They come in and we get assessed on the work that we do.  I’ve also had a placement at the College’s salon ‘You’ at the new Kilmarnock campus.  Getting the chance to work there was great.  I even had regulars coming in which was good.

One of the most challenging aspects of being a hairdresser is to make sure that no client leaves the salon unhappy with their new hairstyle.  That can be a bit stressful, but I just take my time, and make sure I know what the client would like every step of the way, and it works out fine.

The most important thing is making sure that you work to the best of your ability and that the client leaves the salon happy.  I love cutting and colouring, it’s great seeing the before and after!

I also work in a salon on a Saturday in Stevenston which means I get extra experience while working at the job that I love, so that’s a bonus.

I finish college in June and I’m hoping to work full-time in the salon I’m currently working in at the weekends.  I’d love to open my own place eventually, maybe in Prestwick.

I’m the only male in my class, and to be honest, it doesn’t matter at all to me.  Plus, it makes me stand out a wee bit which is good.

For any guys who want to get into hairdressing, I’d say definitely just go for it.  Don’t be put off by being in the minority in the classes.  We’re all learning the same things and have our own goals.  It’s never been an issue.”

Courses are open for August 2017 applications:

  • HNC Hairdressing, click here.
  • NC Hairdressing Level 5, click here.
  • NC Hairdressing Level 6, click here.
  • SVQ Barbering @ SCQF Level 5, click here.

Leave a Reply

