Start your Career in Events

Ayrshire College expanded its marketing team with the creation of a Marketing and Events internship position in October last year.

Events are integral to the success of the marketing team at Ayrshire College, and 23- year-old intern Ada Konkolska is now more than halfway through the six-month internship.


 

ada

Ada talks about her events journey at the College.

“So much has happened since I started as the Marketing and Events Intern.

At the beginning of the internship, my role was more about supporting the events team on the events that happen on a regular basis, such as the annual graduations.

As I got more involved with my role, my confidence grew and I have been given more responsibilities, so that’s been really good.  I’m meeting new people, dealing with clients, suppliers and negotiating prices, to working with other college staff, all on a daily basis.

While I was at university, I would run my own events and I am now finding that I am meeting quite a few of the contacts I made in the industry already.  I’ve learnt that customer service is so important as you never know when you’ll meet contacts in your career again.  It’s important to make a good impression.

With events, you can really tap into your creative side and bring your ideas to the table.   This can include everything from the catering to how many invites have been sent, to meeting delegates on the day.  I enjoy being able to bring my creativity to the job and help to make things happen at an event. It can make the difference between a good event and a fantastic one!

I am learning something new every day working at the College, because every event is a little bit different, from graduations where there’s more of a structure, to the newer events being held in the event spaces in the new Kilmarnock Campus.  It’s great to be a part of the Events team as there’s a real sense that we’re all in it together.

The most interesting event I’ve worked on so far is the #ThisAyrshireGirlCan Technology Workout which is coming up in June.  I’ve really enjoyed being involved right from the start, and even better that I will get to see it right through to the end.

Working at the College is my first experience of working in a large organisation.  I enjoy the fact that the marketing team work with so many different teams within the College in order to make the events happen.   It’s been a good experience working in the varied roles within the events team, such as working on student events, to corporate events engaging with businesses.

For me, being an intern has definitely boosted my career and enhanced my CV.  It’s been good to work in a completely new environment and to learn more about the education industry.  With the experience I have gained here, I can take that knowledge and apply to any career within the events industry.

For someone who is thinking of starting a career in events, I would say get as much experience as you can. Volunteer to work at different kinds of events – there are loads of opportunities out there, just get involved.

I’ve known since I was 15 that I wanted to work in events, and that has not changed.  I’ve really enjoyed my time here.”


We’ve created a new, exciting and modern course that teaches you everything you need to know about running a successful event.  It will give you the skills you need to start a career in this dynamic and diverse industry, or move onto a higher level of study.

Start your career in events – apply for HNC Events, starting in August 2017.

Leave a Reply

