Meet the Kilmarnock 2017 graduation prizewinners

Ahead of the Kilmarnock graduation ceremony on Friday 27 October, we are revealing one of our prizewinners each day.

Today it’s Student of the Year for Hair and Beauty, Martin McCluskey – HNC Hairdressing.SOY Martin McClusky_Instagram Post

Prior to my HNC I have been working as a Salon Assistant at Ayrshire College on the Ayr campus where I help with the running of the hair salons. It’s a great job as I get to work with very creative lecturers and students.

I also have the opportunity to help positively impact the learning experience of students as I work with them to ensure all clients are given a professional salon experience when they visit our college. This is done by advising the students on what products we use, what days and times we are open and also what services we provide and how to book them.

The course involved enhancing my cutting, colour, and styling skills to the highest level. I got the chance to learn employability and job seeking skills that will help further my career. Skills such as organising training events and fashion shows will benefit me if I ever own my own business.

I loved the practical element of the course as you got to push your creative skills to the limit. Everyone who does the HNC are already skilled at cutting and colouring hair, but the course isn’t about that – it’s about taking what you have learned over the years, and developing higher level skills. The course has given me great confidence in my skills and ability.

As part of my Graded Unit, I got invited to the Sassoon Glasgow salon to see how they operate. This was an amazing experience; the buzz of the salon, the passion and creativity really excited and inspired me.

I feel honoured to have won this award as it really has made all the hard work worth it. Winning Hair and Beauty Student of the Year really was the icing on the cake, or so I thought until I got my results! I achieved an A for my Graded Unit which gave me a real sense of achievement.

By successfully completing my HNC, and winning this award, I feel confident it will benefit me in the long run, as it shows hard work and commitment. I believe if you are going to do something then you have to give it all you have.

The training and support I have received from staff at Ayrshire College has been second to none during my time here.

Now I’m working as hard as I can within my role as Salon Assistant, to help make sure that students have the same positive learning experience as I did within my course.

Eventually the dream would be to teach, and pass on what I have learned to inspire new students.

#ayrshiregrads

 

Leave a Reply

