Meet the Kilmarnock 2017 graduation prizewinners

Ahead of the Kilmarnock graduation ceremony on Friday 27 October, we are revealing one of our prizewinners each day.

Today we reveal the Student of the Year for Business, Administration and Accounts, Michelle Morton – HND Accounting

SOY Michelle Morton_Instagram PostAs my children grew older, I felt it was time to return to full time work.  I had little success finding work, and the feedback I received was that I did not have the qualifications to support my experience.  With this in mind, I applied to college.

I found I thoroughly enjoyed learning again and valued the whole college experience.  The sense of achievement I felt when completing each assessment was wonderful.

Alongside the achievement of academic success, I have made some lifelong friends.

As a mature student, I was initially hesitant to come to college, but I needn’t have worried, as my classes were diverse in terms of ages and personalities, and I enjoyed working with everyone as I rediscovered a passion for learning.

This course has given me the skills which could allow me to begin working in a variety of roles in the accounting industry, or alternatively, continue in education to complete an Accountancy degree. I feel I have gained skills in communications with my peers, and learned motivational skills while encouraging classmates.

Ayrshire College is a fantastic place to study and learn with amazing facilities.  I would definitely recommend the HND Accounting course as it is extremely interesting, challenging and rewarding.

I am truly honoured and humbled to have won this award.  I would like to thank those that have supported me all through the course and nominated me for this award.  I was studying in a class full of motivated and hardworking students, so to be nominated for this award means a great deal to me.

This award gives me more confidence in myself, the career path I have chosen and will hopefully make me stand out to future prospective employers.

I have accepted a place in third year of the degree course at the University of the West of Scotland to continue studying with the hope of achieving a degree.

#ayrshiregrads

 

Leave a Reply

