Meet the Kilmarnock 2017 graduation prizewinners

Ahead of the Kilmarnock graduation ceremony on Friday 27 October, we are revealing one of our prizewinners each day.

Today we reveal Student of the Year for Engineering and Science, Max McGinn – HNC Applied Science

SOY Max McGinn_Instagram Post

I started studying NQ Bioscience and progressed onto HNC Applied Science where I enjoyed learning about various aspects of Biology and Chemistry, including microbiology and biochemistry.

Going from not knowing a thing about biology or chemistry to gradually learning bits and pieces until I had developed a decent understanding of aspects of these sciences has been fantastic.

The Graded Unit involved researching a scientific topic and gathering the appropriate information and producing a report. There was also a statistics class as well as practical laboratories.

The highlight for me was receiving such positive feedback for my Graded Unit.  It definitely made all the hard work worth it.

During my time at college, I have developed practical laboratory skills as well as an understanding of what is required to work effectively in a lab. These skills will help me at university.

It feels awesome to have won this award. I didn’t believe it at first, as it isn’t something that I even considered that I could win, so I’m really happy.

It will allow me to stand out more when I am applying for jobs or placements related to my university course. This award will also remind me to believe in myself more.

I am now at university where I am studying a degree in Marine and Freshwater Biology.

I would recommend the College without a doubt, especially to study science. The lecturers are incredibly knowledgeable and always there to help you out if you need it. 

#ayrshiregrads

Leave a Reply

